Website Unibail-Rodamco-Westfield

Cases

Cases overview

Amazon casts a spell on the Pasing Arcaden for Children’s Reading Day

Key Facts

  • Witch's house in front of the Pasing Arcaden entrance
  • Fairy tale readings in the cosy reading room
  • Amazon fairy tale collection as a give-away

“Crunch, crunch, crunch, who’s nibbling at my little house?” Many visitors who came to the Pasing Arcaden in September 2019 thought of this well-known sentence from the story of Hansel and Gretel. Because in front of the stylish 4-star shopping centre, passers-by were in for a truly fairytale surprise: Amazon had invited them to a children’s reading day and set up a lifelike witch’s house on the forecourt of the mall in the Bavarian metropolis. It wasn’t just the little ones who were wide-eyed when they saw the quaint, richly decorated shelter.

The online retailer delighted the customers in Munich with a campaign that was better than in a fairy tale. Because brave ones who ventured inside the wooden hut did not have to fear the evil witch from the Grimm’s tale. Instead, they could take a seat in one of the cosy nooks and listen to the hourly readings of classics such as Snow White, the Frog King and of course Hansel and Gretel, but also exciting and beautiful new interpretations.

Fairytale like promotion in a family friendly ambience

Stiftung Lesen (Reading Foundation) initiated the campaign on the occasion of World Children’s Day. The ambassadors wanted to use the unusual event to arouse enthusiasm for books among their audience. But that was not all: to provide little bookworms with enough reading material, Amazon came up with a surprise. Together with the Foundation, the mail-order company brought out the enchanting story collection “Once Upon a Time – New and Classic Fairy Tales”. The stories in it are about beautiful princesses, lovely elves and tiny dwarfs and are made for fabulous reading sessions. All visitors to the Pasinger reading room could enjoy a free copy.

The centrally located arcades are a popular meeting place for families from the district and the surrounding area with their diverse range of over 150 shops. In the centre, which has won awards for its service, they can shop in a relaxed atmosphere. Ideal conditions for the event day with a colourful programme for the little ones. Between the readings, they were able to work in the attractive craft corners in front of the crunchy house built especially for the promotion. The late summer sunny weather rounded off the experience.

Online retailer attracts new target group offline

The promoters on site were delighted with the positive response from the many children who flocked to the fairytale room throughout the day. And their parents were also thrilled by the imaginative set-up. Amazon succeeded in making an unforgettable appearance offline as well. The world market leader, which once started as an online bookseller, remembered its origins and made a name for itself with numerous potential future customers.

Of course, such attention-grabbing advertising and promotional opportunities are also available to other retailers and brands. Whether it’s events for product presentation, pop-up stores or stands for brand staging: in the Pasing Arcaden you are sure to attract the attention of your target group.

Inspired by this best case? Would you also like to take advantage of these advertising opportunities?
Contact us!

Website Unibail-Rodamco-Westfield

Cases

Zur Cases-Übersicht

Amazon verhext zum Kinderlesetag die Pasing Arcaden

Key Facts

  • Hexenhaus vor dem Eingang der Pasing Arcaden
  • Märchenlesungen in der gemütlichen Lesestube
  • Amazon-Märchensammlung als Give-Away

„Knusper, knusper knäuschen, wer knuspert an meinem Häuschen?“ An diesen bekannten Satz aus der Geschichte von Hänsel und Gretel dachte so mancher Besucher, der im September 2019 in die Pasing Arcaden kam. Denn vor dem stylischen 4-Sterne-Shoppingcenter erwartete Passanten eine wahrlich märchenhafte Überraschung: Amazon hatte zum Kinderlesetag geladen und dazu ein lebensechtes Hexenhaus auf dem Vorplatz der Mall in der bayrischen Metropole aufgebaut. Angesichts des urigen, detailreich verzierten Unterschlupfes machten nicht nur die Kleinen große Augen.

Mit einer Kampagne, die besser war als im Märchen, erfreute der Onlinehändler die Kunden in München. Denn Mutige, die sich ins Innere der Holzhütte wagten, mussten nicht die böse Hexe aus der Grimm’schen Erzählung fürchten. Stattdessen konnten sie in einer der gemütlich Sitzecken Platz nehmen und bei den stündlichen Lesungen Klassikern wie Schneewittchen, dem Froschkönig und natürlich Hänsel und Gretel, aber auch spannend-schönen Neuinterpretationen lauschen.

Märchenhafte Promotion in familienfreundlichem Ambiente

Die Stiftung Lesen hatte die Aktion anlässlich des Weltkindertages initiiert. Die Botschafter wollten mit der ungewöhnlichen bei ihren Zuhörern die Begeisterung für Bücher wecken. Doch damit nicht genug: Um kleine Leseratten auch darüber hinaus mit genügend Lektüre zu versorgen, hatte Amazon sich noch eine Überraschung ausgedacht. Gemeinsam mit der Stiftung brachte der Versandhändler die zauberhafte Geschichtensammlung „Es war einmal – Neue und klassische Märchen“ heraus. Die Erzählungen darin handeln von wunderschönen Prinzessinnen, zarten Elfen und winzigen Zwergen und sind wie gemacht für sagenhafte Vorlesestunden. Alle Besucher des Pasinger Vorlesestübchens konnten sich über eine kostenlose Ausgabe freuen.

Die zentral gelegen Arcaden sind mit ihrem vielfältigen Angebot in den über 150 Shops ein beliebter Treffpunkt für Familien aus dem Stadtteil und der Umgebung. In dem für seinen Service ausgezeichneten Center können sie in entspannter Atmosphäre shoppen. Ideale Voraussetzungen also für den Aktionstag mit buntem Programm für die Kleinsten. Zwischen den Lesungen konnten sie in den einladenden Bastelecken vor dem eigens für die Promotion gebauten Knusperhäuschen werkeln. Das spätsommerlich sonnige Wetter rundete das Erlebnis ab.

Onlinehändler erschließt neue Zielgruppe offline

Die Promoter vor Ort freuten sich über die positive Resonanz der vielen Kinder, die den ganzen Tag über in die Märchenstube strümten. Und auch ihre Eltern waren begeistert von dem einfallsreichen Aufbau. Amazon gelang so auch offline ein unvergesslicher Auftritt. Der Weltmarktführer, der einst als Online-Buchhändler angefangen hatte, besann sich dabei auf seine Ursprünge und machte sich damit einen Namen bei zahlreichen potentiellen künftigen Kunden.

Selbstverständlich stehen solche aufmerksamkeitsstarken Werbe- und Promotionsmöglichkeiten auch anderen Händlern und Marken zur Verfügung. Ob Events zur Produktpräsentation, Pop-up Stores oder Stände zur Markeninszenierung: In den Pasing Arcaden ist Ihnen die Aufmerksamkeit ihrer Zielgruppe sicher.