Contact
  • #insights

One big Christmas Family

13 | 12 | 21

“Lights On is the most beautiful moment of the year for me. Seeing the smiles on people’s faces and hoping it will last for the next few weeks, is something very special.” When Sven Haimhof talks about Christmas markets, his eyes sparkle like Christmas ornaments. So it is no coincidence that “Mr Christmas” in the CP team is responsible for the Christmas markets in and around the URW shopping centres.

“Last Christmas” in summer

With no less than five large markets – in Bochum’s Ruhr Park, Recklinghausen’s Palais Vest, Leipzig’s Paunsdorf Center, Munich’s Pasing Arcaden and the Westfield Centro Oberhausen – as well as the small but fine market in the Riem Arcaden, it’s not an easy job: “For me, after the Christmas market is before the Christmas market: when the last truck rolls out of the yard in January, the planning for the coming year already begins,” he says. So for him it’s Christmas all year round and this has consequences: “I already listen to Christmas carols in July. And in fact, the Christmas tree at home was already up at the beginning of November this year”. We, the CP team, are well used to it: Sven’s playlist is legendary and it brings results:

Since 2012, Sven Haimhof has been in charge of the URW Christmas markets, which enchant countless visitors with their festive atmosphere every year. One in particular has grown close to his heart: “Westfield Centro hosts our largest and therefore most elaborate market. Most of the exhibitors have been coming for many years so that a real Christmas market family has been established there.”

Finally a Christmas wonderland again

Even in hard times, they stick together: “For many craftspeople in particular, the Christmas market is the event of the year. The disappointment about last year’s cancellation was enormous for them and everyone else involved. That’s why we are all highly delighted that we could all come together again this year,” says Sven Haimhof. The enthusiasm of the traders during the set-up was accordingly overwhelming – at all locations. The anticipation for the most wonderful time of the year leaves even the experienced “Mr Christmas” speechless for a little moment. “When I think back to the opening, I get a real lump in my throat”.

Another highlight this year was the Austrian premiere: In summer 2021, two more centres in Vienna were added to the portfolio. At the Westfield Donau Zentrum, the objective was also to organise a unique indoor Christmas market. “And something big is already planned for Westfield Shopping City Süd in 2022,” Sven Haimhof announces mysteriously.

And on a personal note, „Mr Christmas“?

We were able to uncover one more secret of our Christmas elf: although everything revolves around the most important Christian festival in his professional life, he is also a real Christmas fan in his private life. “I love going to Christmas markets. I love the festive atmosphere, the colourful lights, the glitter. It’s a very special feeling for me.”

Interested? Benefit now from the new synergies of our Commercial Partnership Team!
Contact us!

Kontakt
  • #insights

One big Christmas Family

13 | 12 | 21

„Das Lights On ist für mich der schönste Moment des Jahres. Das Lächeln auf den Gesichtern zu sehen und zu hoffen, dass es für die nächsten Wochen anhält, das ist etwas ganz Besonderes.“ Wenn Sven Haimhof über Weihnachtsmärkte spricht, funkeln seine Augen wie Christbaumkugeln. Es ist also kein Zufall, dass „Mr Christmas“ im CP-Team die Weihnachtsmärkte in und um die URW-Shopping-Center verantwortet.

„Last Christmas“ im Hochsommer

Bei gleich fünf großen Märkten – im Bochumer Ruhr Park, Recklinghäuser Palais Vest, Leipziger Paunsdorf Center, den Münchener Pasing Arcaden und dem Westfield Centro Oberhausen – sowie dem kleinen aber feinen Markt in den Riem Arcaden kein einfacher Job: „Nach dem Weihnachtsmarkt ist für mich vor dem Weihnachtsmarkt: Wenn im Januar der letzte LKW vom Hof rollt, beginnen schon die Planungen für das kommende Jahr“, erzählt er. Für ihn ist so das ganze Jahr über Weihnachten. Das hat Folgen: „Ich höre schon im Juli Weihnachtslieder. Und tatsächlich stand der Tannenbaum zuhause dieses Jahr schon Anfang November.“

Wir im CP-Team haben uns daran schon gewöhnt: Svens Playlist ist bei uns legendär. Und sie wirkt: Seit 2012 betreut Sven Haimhof die URW-Weihnachtsmärkte, die jedes Jahr aufs Neue unzählige Besucher mit ihrer festlichen Stimmung verzaubern. Einer ist ihm dabei besonders ans Herz gewachsen: „Am Westfield Centro ist unser größter und damit auch aufwendigster Markt. Die meisten Aussteller kommen schon seit vielen Jahren. Inzwischen ist dort eine richtige Weihnachtsmarktfamilie entstanden.“

Endlich wieder Weihnachts-Wunderland

Und die hält auch in schweren Zeiten zusammen: „Vor allem für unsere vielen Kunsthandwerker ist der Weihnachtsmarkt das Ereignis des Jahres. Die Enttäuschung über die Absage im vergangenen Jahr war bei ihnen und auch bei allen anderen Beteiligten riesig. Umso größer ist deshalb die Freude, dass wir in diesem Jahr wieder alle zusammenkommen können“, erzählt Sven Haimhof. Entsprechend überwältigend war die Euphorie der Händler beim Aufbau – und zwar an allen Standorten. Vorfreude auf die schönste Zeit des Jahres, die auch den erfahrenen „Mr Christmas“ kurz sprachlos macht. „Wenn ich an die Eröffnung denke, bekomme ich einen richtigen Kloß im Hals.“

Ein weiteres Highlight war in diesem Jahr die Österreich-Premiere: Im Sommer 2021 sind nicht nur zwei weitere Center in Wien zum Portfolio dazugekommen. Im Westfield Donau Zentrum galt es auch gleich, einen einzigartigen Indoor-Weihnachtsmarkt zu organisieren. „Und auch für die Westfield Shopping City Süd ist für 2022 schon etwas Großes geplant“, kündigt Sven Haimhof geheimnisvoll an.

Und privat, Mr Christmas?

Und noch ein Geheimnis konnten wir unserem Weihnachtselfen entlocken: Obwohl sich bei ihm beruflich alles um das höchste Fest der Christen dreht, ist er auch privat ein echter Weihnachts-Fan. „Ich gehe total gerne auf Weihnachtsmärkte. Ich liebe die festliche Stimmung, die bunten Lichter, das Glitzern. Das ist für mich ein ganz besonderes Feeling.“

Interesse geweckt? Jetzt von den neuen Synergien unseres Commercial Partnership Teams profitieren!
Kontaktieren Sie uns!